أنت هنا

Help Migrant Workers Transfer Money to their Families

الثلاثاء, 25 شباط, 2020

نتيجة تدهور الظروف الاقتصادية في لبنان، بات العمال والعاملات المهاجرون\ات عاجزين\ات عن تحويل الأموال التي تعتمد عليها عائلاتهم في الخارج لتلبية الاحتياجات اليومية.

"لقد شهدنا خلال الأسابيع القليلة الماضية حالات لا تُحصى لعائلات في المناطق الريفية في أثيوبيا وجدت نفسها فجأةً عاجزةً بسبب الانقطاع المفاجئ لتدفقاتها النقدية. وقد نتج عن توقف التحويلات عواقب مادية خطيرة كانعدام الأمن الغذائي وتراجع فرص الحصول على التعليم". - بانشي يمير، ناشطة في مجال حقوق عاملات المنازل، وعاملة منزلية سابقة في لبنان

 لماذا يتخبّط العمال والعاملات المهاجرون\ات لتحويل الأموال إلى الخارج؟

من جهة، تقبل شركات تحويل الأموال الدولار الأميركي فقط في التحويلات. ومن جهة أخرى، يتقاضى معظم العمال والعاملات المهاجرين\ات أجورهم\ن بالليرة اللبنانية. في هذه الحالة، يبقى خيارهم\ن الوحيد صرف المبلغ بالليرة اللبنانية إلى ما يعادله بالدولار الأميركي قبل إرساله إلى الخارج، مع الأخذ في الحسبان أن سعر صرف الدولار الأميركي في السوق في لبنان وصل إلى 2500 ليرة للدولار الواحد، ما يعني أن العمال يخسرون حوالى 40% من قيمة أموالهم عند القيام بالتحويل.

 لماذا لا يدفع أصحاب العمل للعاملين\ات أجورهم بالدولار الأميركي أو بالليرة اللبنانية وفق سعر صرف السوق؟

يجب عليهم أن يفعلوا ذلك بالتأكيد! سنستمر نحن في مطالبة أصحاب العمل القيام بذلك. لكننا لا نريد أن يخسر العمال الوقت والمال بينما نواصل نحن حثّ أصحاب العمل على القيام بما هو صحيح.

 

دعونا نساعد بأي طريقة ممكنة!

توصّلت مجموعة من الناشطين، بدعم من "حركة مناهضة العنصرية"، إلى حلّ مؤقت لهذه المشكلة. فقد قمنا بتطوير موقع إلكتروني يمكنه مطابقة الأشخاص الذين يملكون أموالًا بالدولار أو باليورو (مرسِلون) مع أسر العمال المهاجرين (متلقّون). وبالفعل، أتممنا لغاية الآن ثلاثة تحويلات دولية ناجحة إلى أثيوبيا والكاميرون وبنغلادش. وقام العديد من العمال بالتسجيل للاستفادة من هذه المبادرة. وبدورنا، نبحث نحن عن المزيد من المرسلين للتطوّع!

كيف يمكنني المشاركة؟

إذا كنت تعيش خارج لبنان، يمكنك تحويل الأموال بالدولار الأميركي مباشرةً إلى عائلة العامل المهاجر في بلدها، ومن ثمّ بإمكانك استلام أموالك بالليرة اللبنانية منا شخصياً عند مجيئك إلى لبنان. يمكنك أيضًا إرسال قريب أو صديق بالنيابة عنك لاسترداد الأموال منا في حال لم تكن تنوي زيارة لبنان في أي وقت قريب.

كل ما عليك فعله هو تسجيل الدخول إلى الموقع وتعبئة بعض المعلومات الأساسية. بعد ذلك، ستتمّ مطابقتها مع عامل مهاجر وستتلقى تعليمات حول كيفية إجراء التحويل (الاسم، والمبلغ، والبلد).

من خلال المشاركة في هذه المبادرة، فإنك توافق على:

1. التبرّع برسوم التحويل (أقل من 10 دولارات أميركية، ويختلف المبلغ بحسب الدول).

2. استرداد أموالك (من دون رسوم التحويل) وفق سعر صرف 1500 ليرة لبنانية للدولار الواحد، بغض النظر عن سعر الصرف الرسمي أو الأسعار المتداولة في السوق في وقت تحويل الأموال أو وقت استردادها. وهذا يعني أنك تتبرّع أيضًا بفرق سعر الصرف.

 

هل من الآمن إرسال الأموال إلى الخارج من خلال هذا النظام؟

ما نقوم به هو أننا نأخذ المال من العامل\ة بالليرة اللبنانية قبل إضافته\ا إلى الموقع، ما يعني أنه لا تجري مطابقتها سوى مع الأشخاص الذين دفعوا لنا المال أساسًا. لذا مهما كان المبلغ الذي ترسله من الخارج، نملك نحن بالأصل ما يعادله بالليرة اللبنانية (بالسعر الرسمي).

 هل يمكنني تسجيل الدخول إذا كنت مقيمًا في لبنان وأملك مبلغًا بالدولار الأميركي؟

بالطبع، حتى أن الموقع يمنحك هذا الخيار. لكن على الرغم من ذلك، سيتعيّن عليك تحويل الأموال شخصيًا في أي فرع من فروع ويسترن يونيون Western Union، لأننا نحن مجموعة من المتطوعين ولا نملك تمويلاً لتغطية أي من رسوم التحويل. أما بالنسبة إلى العمال أنفسهم، فهم أساسًا يحصلون على أجور أقل ويكافحون لتلبية احتياجاتهم والصمود. تجدر الملاحظة أنه سيُطلب منك دفع رسوم التحويل بالدولار الأميركي أيضًا.

ما الحد الأدنى للمبلغ الذي يمكنني المساهمة به؟

الحد الأدنى للتحويل الذي يمكنك إجراؤه هو 100 دولار أميركي، ستستردها 150 ألف ليرة لبنانية (وفق سعر الصرف الرسمي). وستدفع أنت رسوم التحويل (أقل من 10 دولارات).

ماذا يحدث عندما أقوم بتسجيل الدخول؟

يتعيّن عليك ملء جميع المعلومات المطلوبة، وحفظها والنقر على [Match with someone (تطابق مع شخص ما)]، ومن ثمّ [Confirm (تأكيد)] لإتمام العملية. بعد ذلك، ستتمّ مطابقتك مع عامل وستتلقى تعليمات لإجراء التحويل في غضون 72 ساعة.

لماذا أحتاج إلى إجراء التحويل خلال 72 ساعة؟

عندما تتمّ مطابقتك مع عامل ما، يصبح ملفه الشخصي غير متاح أمام مرسلين آخرين أثناء انتظارك القيام بالتحويل. لن يتمكّن من التطابق مع أي شخص آخر خلال تلك الفترة.

قمت بتسجيل الدخول ونقرت على [Match with someone (تطابق مع شخص ما)] لكن لم أجد أي نتيجة للتطابق. لماذا؟

إذا لم تتمّ مطابقتك على الفور، فهذا يعني أنه حاليًا ما من عامل أودع مبلغًا يطابق المبلغ الذي أدخلته. إذا كانت هذه هي الحال، سنتواصل معك عبر البريد الإلكتروني عندما يقوم عامل جديد بإيداع مبلغ يطابق المبلغ الذي قمت بإدخاله.

كيف يمكنني تحويل الأموال عبر ويسترن يونيون Western Union؟

  • اذهب إلى أي فرع من فروع ويسترن يونيون، أعطهم اسم البلد واسم المستلم.
  • سيطلبون رؤية هويتك.
  • أعطهم المال (أي مبلغ التحويل + رسوم التحويل).
  • ستحصل على إيصال مع رقم تتبّع الحوالة النقدية (MTCN).
  • أنقر على [I SENT THE MONEY (أرسلتُ المال)]، وقُم بتحميل صورة للإيصال على الموقع.
  • بمجرد تحميل الإيصال، سنتواصل مع المستلم ونعطيه رقم تتبّع الحوالة.
  • سيقومون بعد ذلك بسحب النقود من أي فرع من فروع ويسترن يونيون في بلدهم من خلال تقديم: بطاقة التعريف، والاسم والمبلغ ورقم تتبّع الحوالة.

You are here

Help Migrant Workers Transfer Money to their Families

Tuesday, 25 February, 2020

Due to the worsening economic crisis, migrant workers in Lebanon are unable to transfer money to their families abroad. Their families rely on this money for survival. 
 

“We have come across countless stories in recent weeks of families in rural areas of Ethiopia caught off-guard by the sudden interruption to their cash flow. Discontinued remittances have produced severe material consequences like food insecurity and a lack of access to education.”

Writes Banchi Yimer, a vocal activist for domestic workers’ rights and a former domestic worker in Lebanon herself

Why are migrant workers struggling to transfer money abroad?

Money transfer companies only accept US dollars for transfers. Most migrant workers are getting paid in Lebanese pounds. Their only option is to exchange their Lebanese pounds to US dollars before sending them abroad. The market exchange rate in Lebanon has reached 2,500 LBP for the dollar, which means that workers are losing 40% of the value of their money to make the transfer.

Why don’t employers pay workers in USD or in LBP at the market exchange rate?

They definitely should! We will continue to call on employers to do so. However, we do not want workers to lose time and money while we continue campaigning for employers to do the right thing.

Let's help any way we can!

A group of activists, supported by Anti-Racism Movement, have come up with a temporary solution to this problem. We developed a website that can match people who have dollars or euros (senders) with migrant workers’ families (receivers). We have already completed 3 successful international transfers to Ethiopia, Cameroon and Bangladesh. Many more workers have signed up to benefit from this initiative. We are looking for more senders to volunteer!

How can I participate?

If you live outside of Lebanon, you can transfer money in USD directly to a migrant worker’s family in their country and then retrieve your money in LBP from us in person once you visit Lebanon. You could also send a relative or friend on your behalf to retrieve the money from us if you’re not planning on visiting Lebanon anytime soon.

All you need to do is log in to the website and fill in some basic information. You will then be matched with a migrant worker and will receive instructions to make your transfer (name, amount, country).

Please note that by participating, you are agreeing to:

  1. Donate the transfer fees (less than $10 USD, exact amount varies across countries)
  2. Retrieve your money (minus the transfer fees) at the rate of 1,500 LBP for the dollar, regardless of the official or market exchange rates at the time of transfer or the time of money retrieval. This means that you are also donating the difference in exchange rate.

Is it safe to send money abroad through this system?

The way this works is we take money in LBP from the worker before we add them to the website. This means that you can only get matched with people who have already given us money. So whatever amount you send abroad, we already have the equivalent in LBP (at official rate) put aside for you.

Can I sign up if I am based in Lebanon and have USD?

Yes, the website gives you that option. You will still have to transfer the money yourself through a Western Union branch. This is because we are a group of volunteers and have no funding to cover any of the transfer fees. As for the workers themselves, they are already paid less and are struggling to get by. Please note that you will be required to pay the transfer fees in US dollars as well.

What is the minimum amount I can contribute?

The minimum transfer you can make is $100 USD, of which you will get back 150,000 LBP (official rate). You would pay the transfer fee yourself (less than $10).

What happens when I sign up?

You need to fill all the required information, save it and click [Match with someone] and then [Confirm] for the process to be complete. You will then be matched with a worker and receive instructions to make the transfer within 72 hours.

Why do I need to make the transfer within 72 hours?

When you are matched with a worker, their profile becomes invisible to other senders while she waits for you to complete the transfer. She will not be able to get matched with anyone else during that time.

I signed up, clicked [Match with someone] but found no results. Why?

If you are not matched right away, it means there are currently no workers who match the amount you put in. If this is the case, we will contact you by email whenever a new worker that matches your amount signs up.

How do I transfer cash through Western Union?

  • You go to a Western Union branch and give the name of the country and the name of the recipient.
  • They will ask to see your ID.
  • You give the cash (amount to transfer + transfer fees).
  • You will get a receipt with an MTCN number.
  • You click on [ I SENT THE MONEY ] and upload a picture of the receipt to the website
  • Once you upload the receipt, we will contact the recipient and give them the MTCN number.
  • They will then withdraw the cash from any Western Union branch in their country by providing: ID, name, amount, and MTCN number.
  • We will inform you when the amount has been withdrawn so that you or a friend can pick up the equivalent amount in LBP.

When will I get reimbursed?

You can collect your payment as soon as we receive confirmation of receipt from the worker’s family. We will contact you or the person you nominated to arrange a pick-up time.

 

Thank you for standing in solidarity with migrant workers and their families!